I Made Her Pay

Preface:
First of all, I’d like to say thank you to the people who read and appreciate my posts. Although I don’t write for a specific audience, it’s nice to know that people are coming and going and that my amateur writing is actually being shared with others. 

Now, on with today’s 300 words which has already become 242 words.

In the past week or two, I’ve been having a lot of encounters where people have made me wait for them. 10 minutes, 45 minutes, and even up to an hour – I know. Ridiculous if you ask me. When it comes to friends, it might be okay once or twice – especially if their excuse is understandable. But other times, I find it hard to be forgiving, and wonder whether I should encourage them to be more punctual because I don’t appreciate that they are not respecting my time. I understand that they are at a comfortable stage in our friendship for them to not worry about being a little late, but sometimes I wonder if they are taking my friendship for granted by the way they consistently do not show up on time.

Today I had to wait for a fellow internet shopper who was keen to buy something I’d posted an ad for on Carousell (an app where you can sell things for free). They asked me for a time to meet. I told them 2pm. They told me sure. Then they said it would probably be anywhere from 2pm to 2:30pm. That was fine by me. So there I was waiting at 2:30pm. I messaged to confirm their current location. Apparently they had arranged for a friend to pick it up for them instead. Fair enough. I waited an extra 45 minutes.

So, I made them pay extra.
They agreed.
Was I ruthless?

Leave a Reply

