Listening

That’s what I did for 5 hours straight today with my stepmum. My neck has never felt so sore from nodding so much ever in my life. But it was worth it. I learned so many valuable life lessons just from her unintentional monologue today.

“I promised myself that I would just listen to Hannah today, but here I am yapping away” she said.

What I learned:

  • I learned that there has to be a delineation between what I share and don’t share with my friends (verbally, I mean). I’ve always been the type to tell my friends eeeeeeeeeeeeverything under the sun about my life because I had no problem trusting them. But it’s not about the trust. I learned that it’s more about what’s valuable in being said, and how what is being said is beneficial to the other person.
  • I was reminded that I should take all my worries and burdens to God who is my ultimate counselor.
  • I learned more about my parents, and my deeply rooted expectations of them that were eroding our intimacy.
  • I learned that every family has its own issues and hardships – some may appear happier than others, more intimate than others, more chatty or friendly, but that’s just surface level.
  • I realised that you can spend your whole life with someone but never truly ever know them.
  • I was reminded of the reason why we shouldn’t judge others – because we haven’t walked even a mile in their shoes. Everyone bears hurts and burdens that manifest in a myriad of ways. Instead of judging their behaviour, it is better to keep an open mind and be understanding of them, rather than to take their actions personally and become offended and hurt.
  • I relearned that all people are recipients of love in this world. Everyone.
Leave a Reply

