Reflections

Today’s 300 words will just be word vomit – or thought vomit. Haha, that doesn’t sound too appetising, does it?

I spent a lot of time today trying to figure out how I want to go about teaching a composite year 1/2 class. Click here to check out my teaching blog (will open in a new tab).

As I was writing, things got a bit philosophical a bit quickly and I felt like I hit a brick wall.

What consumed my mind today were thoughts about how I informed about my practice. What on earth was I doing all this time? What was I thinking during my tertiary education, what was I focused on during my teaching practicums? Was I even serious about teaching? 

After I gave it some thought, it boiled down to the fact that I wasn’t engaging with the educational field and the educational community as much as I should have or could have for someone who aspires to be an inspirational and quality teacher. I was caught up in the mere fantasy that I would become the ideal teacher, without having any concrete execution to bridge the gap between my imagination and my reality.

It is so important to surround yourself with like-minded people. Especially for people like me who easily becomes tossed by the waves, or get caught up in the passions and desires of others that I lose my sense of self in it.

To really achieve my dreams and aspirations, I need to stay engaged with my field of practice – and surround myself with people who share the same passion. I guess this is common advice. But now that I’ve experienced it myself, I can truly appreciate this life lesson.

My resolution:

  • Go to the library tomorrow and read informative books that will take me forward.
Leave a Reply

