Teacher Identity:

The kind of teacher I aspire to be (for when I forget):

  • Caring – for each and every student (not showing partiality – James 3:17)
  • Following steps of Jesus Christ – WWJD? (1 John 2:6)
  • Inspirational – lead by example (apply growth mindset to self, set personal challenges, share with students)
  • Show human sides (not perfect)
  • Prepare students for the real world (world is not fair, you reap what you sow)
  • Puts in the effort (5% effort = 100% difference)
  • Prepared (take time to plan), motivated, enthusiastic
  • Helps students learn by preparing resources/lessons to suit their learning styles and stages of cognitive development
  • Humble (remembering that I don’t know everything- especially to students and other staff)
  • Happy (NTS: Smile more- do things that make others happy too)
  • Original/Creative – have my own take on teaching (don’t be a copy- be yourself)
  • Instil a love for learning and reading, helping others, loving self/improving self
  • Raise leaders
  • Help recognise talents and strengths and bring them out

When I forget the why behind the what:

  • Kids need love, some are from broken families and don’t get the love at home
  • Kids need good role models/examples to learn from and emulate
  • By helping one student, I am potentially helping raise a leader who can lead so many more people than I can reach
  • I am a lifelong learner
  • Every day is different
  • I can practise forgiveness, giving second chances
  • I can influence a life
  • I am a friend, a mentor and a guide to the world
  • A teacher makes a difference in the world by enabling each of his or her students to fully maximize their talents, imagination, skills and character.
  • Variety – The possibilities are endless
  • Autonomy
  • Interpersonal interaction
  • Laugh everyday
  • I can be creative with how I teach

A good teacher is like a candle. It consumes itself to light the way for others.

Leave a Reply

